I used to write poetry

I used to write poetry
on the backs of paper scraps
at train stations
waiting for the 12.38am
after missing the 12.01.

I used to map words around
those already written down –
words I didn’t know the meanings of
sourced from books I liked.

I’d leave the scraps to accumulate
in my handbag, until
inside looked like a graveyard
of unrealised dreams.

I wrote to fill the gap

between now

and waiting for my lover to call

and say he’d save me
from the public transport experience.

But I don’t need to write poetry now,
because I drive a car and listen to commercial radio.

By Jodie McLeod

***

I just found this poem while sifting through old files… made me think – everyone must have something they used to do that they’ve put aside to make room for Life in General. What’s your thing? And are you going to bring it back?

Leave a Reply

